BURRATA

4 June 2007

This is my fist SWEET PEA blog post!

I will begin with a story of my dear friend Eliane, who came to visit last week. During the course of our dinner, while chatting about cooking she mentioned that life would not be the same without trying the sumptuous ‘BURRATA’.

This for me was like a carrot to a rabbit. So with great enthusiasm I set off Saturday morning to the Cavalieri & Fils cheese stall in www.halle-de-rive.ch , an indoor food market in Geneva. To my delight, there was the sign marked ‘Burrata’ and the owner had one left!

Imported from Italy, originally from the Apulia region, BURRATA meaning ‘buttery’, is a fresh cheese made from mozzarella and cream. It ranges in sizes from 250 to 500g, and should be eaten within 24 to 48 hours of buying. I took these instruction to heart and went straight home to unwrapped my bundle of joy.

The cheese was packed first in a plastic sheet followed by two asphodel leaves (leeks), which are used as indicators of freshness – as long as they are a bright green, the cheese is fresh. The first taste I can only describe as heavenly – an outer shell of solid mozzarella which opens to reveal a rich, velvety texture of mozzarella and fresh cream. 

After trying the cheese on its own, I found that a little olive oil marries well with the Burrata’s creamy taste and that a fresh baguette and buffalo tomatoes are nice accompaniments. After a second helping, I must confess, that my eyes were bigger than my stomach and that as this is not a light cheese perhaps a little moderation in the future would be a good idea! A 500g cheese is definitely too much for two people, however the silver lining is that I have a half left over and I think I will try it melted over some fresh pasta for lunch!!

4 Responses to “BURRATA”

  1. Olivier Says:

    Merci de m’avoir fait découvrir cet excellent fromage et bravo pour ton premier article sur ton blog!
    xxx
    Olivier

  2. Laura S. Says:

    Hi lovely,
    The cheese looks fabulous, do you think we could get it in Paxton and Whitfield here in London? Or do you know where in London one could find it???
    Lx

  3. Erika (Sweet Pea) Says:

    Hi Laura, thanks for your comment
    Unfortunately Paxton & Whitfields in London does not carry Burrata however La Fromagerie <a href=”http://www.lafromagerie.co.uk” rel=”nofollow”>www.lafromagerie.co.uk</a> and certain Carluccio’s ie South Kensington <a href=”http://www.carluccios.com” rel=”nofollow”>www.carluccios.com</a> do!

  4. Laura S Says:

    Wonderful will go hunting for the cheese in Carluccio’s – many thanks for the recommendation…

    Lxx


Leave a Reply

