SIRAPSSNITTAR

21 August 2007

Sirapssnittar biscuits

{SIRAPSSNITTAR} are very addictive buttery Swedish cookies, whose name translates to Sirap = Syrup/treacle SnittCut, a logical name given that they are made with syrup and cut into squares when removed from the oven. I have baked 3 batches in the last 10 days and should theoretically have gained 10 pounds by now, had it not been for eager friends who were willing to take these divine treats off my hands.

Story : Little did I know it at that time, but my cookie making world was about to be turned upside down, whilst visiting Gamla Stan (the Old Town) of Stockholm a few months ago. It was here that I accidentally found Grillska Huset’s café and purchased my first bag of sirapssnittars. I must confess I have pleasantly not recovered since – this may be the best cookie i have had / made. The taste was like a portal back to my childhood, of home comfort , milk and cookies!

Olivier’s mom had the same experience when she tasted one – saying that it reminded her of when she was a little girl of 5, at her uncle’s pâtisserie in Paris. It was here that she spent one afternoon, nestled amongst the pastries, as her mother, sister, aunt and cousin went exploring the town. She was too little and therefore had no choice but to stay behind, the silver lining of which was her uncles undivided attention and an unlimited amount of sweet cakes…. ‘tu aimerais goûter encore celui-ci… tiens ma cocotte!” (would you like to taste this one… here my little chicken) When her mother returned that evening she was full of sugar, had red cheeks, a temperature of 40° and indigestion. When she thinks back to that day she laughs and says ‘it was well worth it!’

As for me, I returned to Geneva and was on the hunt for a recipe to recreate these wonderful cookies. After interrogating many a Swedish friend, I was thrilled to receive an email from Frida with this recipe: 

RECIPE – SWEET PEA BLOG

  • 190g plain flour 
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 115g white sugar
  • 1 large tablespoon golden syrup / treacle (in Geneva it can be called light golden molasses)
  • 1 packet vanilla sugar (or 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  1. Preheat the oven to 160°C (320°F).
  2. Take the butter out of the fridge, cut into little squares and leave to come to room temperature. When ready, using an electric mixed combine the butter, sugar and vanilla, and beat until light and creamy.
  3. Now add the syrup and mix.
  4. In a separate bowl combine the flour and the baking powder – gradually add this to the butter/sugar mixture and mix until it looks like breadcrumbs . 
  5. Using your fingers, work the dough until it forms a nice smooth flat ball (this can take a few minutes).
  6. Flour a large cookie sheet with no rims (I found one at Ikea). With a well floured rolling pin, roll the dough directly onto the cookie sheet, until it forms a circle, approximately 0.4cm thick. Alternatively you can roll the dough out onto cooking parchment and then transfer onto the cookie sheet.
  7. Cook for 15 minutes.
  8. Remove the cookies from the oven and immediately, using a very sharp large knife, cut them into sections. I like lozenge shaped cookie …. 1st cut vertical lines (3cm wide), 2nd cut diagonal lines in one direction. All forms taste great …. so be creative!
  9. Leave the cookies to harden a little (5 minutes) before transferring them to a cooling rack.

NOTE: I use an inexpensive Ikea cookie sheet so that I can cut the cookie directly on the sheet, which is faster and easier than using cooking parchment! However there is the slight annoyance that the ikea cookie sheet has been known to buckle in the oven due to the heat, but this doesn’t affect the cookies. Also a cookie spatula is an ideal tool to transfer the cookies to the cooling rack.

12 Responses to “SIRAPSSNITTAR”


  1. They look good, I love buttery cookies – too bad they are addictive. 😀

  2. Erika ( SWEET PEA) Says:

    thanks Patricia 🙂 I find that if you eat them with friends and family the calories don’t count…. !
    Look forward to reading you blog.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Hi E,

    These cookies look fantastic. I am not much of a cookie monster, but I will make them for Laura who will be the true judge of these tasty treats. I hope to have a nice strong cup of coffee and a side plate of these with you in Geneva when I visit over the holidays. Very excited! Oh, and this blog looks very pro!

  4. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    Hiya,
    you may be a converted cookie monster after these…. Love to hear what Laura thinks of them! Can’t wait to see you at Christmas xxx

  5. Ivonne Says:

    I absolutely adore them, Erika! I’m a bit of a Swedish-o-phile as I love anything Swedish! What gorgeous cookies!

  6. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    Ivonne, thanks. Many of my friends in Geneva are Swedish and have introduced me to new cooking ideas. Will be posting other Nordic recipes in the future. These cookies are truly addictive and so easy to make!

  7. ellaella Says:

    Delightful blog and these cookies look wonderful for the winter holidays. I’m so glad I’m one of the few Americans to bake with the metric system. Consider yourself bookmarked!

  8. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    Ella, thanks for your note. I promise these cookies will not disappoint 🙂
    Great minds must think alike, as I am currently planning to update the blog and write all recipes in grams & cups to make them more user friendly! Look forward to keeping in touch.

  9. peabody Says:

    That’s a great photo!

  10. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    Peabody, thanks 🙂 The lighting was a little tricky but I got there in the end!

  11. MA Says:

    These cookies are absolutely delicious. I love the taste of the golden syrup – very different from other cookies which use only sugar. I made these for my MahJong ladies today and the hands kept going back to the tray many, many times with comments such as “MMMMMMMMMMMM – where did you get the recipe because I cannot wait to make them”. I gave your blog address to several of the ladies so you should be hearing from more Canadians soon. Hope K does make them for LL!! Kudos to you!

  12. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    Hi MA, It is funny, I didn’t think at first that the syrop would make such a difference – but it does! And yes they do have that addictive quality. I think I am going to try the recipe with cinammon soon 🙂


Leave a Reply

