PLUM AND CINNAMON TARTLETS

10 September 2007

Plum tartlets

{TARTELETTES AUX PRUNEAUX ET CANNELLE} I know I know, I promised more savoury & less sweetie recepes – but little purple plums are TAKING OVER MY KITCHEN!!! Everywhere I look there is a bowl, box or plate of them. Why you might ask – well it just so happens that Olivier’s parents have plum trees at their country house in France…. and as they cannot keep up with them, the torch has been passed! Something had to be done….

As I have already made ‘PLUM, GREEN GAGE & CINNAMON JAM’ (soon to be posted on the SP blog) I thought I would turn my attention to tart making… before the plums turn or the season passes! And seeing as the cinnamon was a nice added touch to the plum jam, I decided to make a sweet cinnamon pastry crust for this recipe.

RECIPE – SWEET PEA BLOG

CINNAMON PASTRY

  • 200g white flour
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 1 sachet vanilla sugar (or 1 teaspoon vanilla extract)
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • pinch of salt
  1. Remove the butter from the fridge, cut into small cubes and bring to room temperature.
  2. In an electric mixer, combine the flour, vanilla sugar, cinnamon, white sugar and salt. (NOTE: if you are using liquid vanilla extract add this with the egg at the end.) 
  3. Now add the butter and mix well until you have a breadcrumb consistency.
  4. Beat the egg separately then add to the flour mixture. At this point I often use my hands, to work the dough until it forms a smooth, uniform ball. Cover with plastic warp and place in the fridge for 20 mins to half an hour.

PLUMS & TART MAKING

  • 14 slightly firm damson plums (approx. 430g)  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Damson
  • 6 teaspoons of finely ground almonds
  • for decoration:
  • 1 tablespoon chopped pistachio nuts
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F)
  2. REMOVE the cinnamon pastry from the fridge, so it will be easier to roll. Wash the plums & cut each one in half and then half again and set aside.
  3. Roll out the pastry dough till approx. 2-3mm thick and line each tart tin –  I normally make either 8 tratlets or 1 large tart. Using a fork prick the bottom of each tart and then placing them on a cookie sheet pre-bake for 6 minutes.
  4. Remove the tartlets from the oven and dust the bottom of each with 1 teaspoon of ground almonds.
  5.  Arrange the plums in each tart so that they are sitting next to each other on their sides and then sprinkle with a few chopped pistachio nuts.
  6. Bake for 40 minutes and immediately sprinkle with a little white sugar when removed from the oven.

NOTE: I use slightly firm plums as the overly ripe variety produce more juice and can leave you with a runny tart. The ground almonds will help to absorb some of the plum juice and avoid a soggy pastry.

11 Responses to “PLUM AND CINNAMON TARTLETS”

  1. PA Says:

    This recipe looks great – it is a really good way to deal with the glut of plums that happens at this time of year. Do you have any serving suggestion ie either with creme fraiche, cream or ice cream?

  2. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    Hi PA, thanks for your comment. I would suggest serving this desert with crème fraiche – as the slightly sour taste of this type of cream will go nicely with the sweetness of the tarts. Let me know how it turns out 🙂

  3. Laura S Says:

    Hi lovely,

    These look great, at the mo’ we have a lot of apples in the garden, so might try a different version, but rather than with cinnamon do you think ginger would be fine? As now I have a little bit of time of my hands I can get baking, oh yes will foward chocolate maccaroons

    Lxx

  4. Olivier Says:

    I have tasted this desert 1st hand and the cinnamon pastry goes very well with the plums! However next time I would like to try it with vanilla ice cream.

  5. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    LAURA : Hi thanks for taking a look! Apple tart is wonderful and I think a ginger pastry shell will go nicely. Let me know, as the apple trees in France are almost ready for picking…. you can see where my attention will be turned!!!
    Will wait for maccaroons 🙂


  6. Those are gorgeous! Love them!

  7. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    JENN: thanks, I still have plums left so think I will be making another batch!

    OLIVIER: we could also try making the tarts with normal pastry and serve them with cinnamon ice cream!!!

  8. MA Says:

    what a great idea to make plum tartlettes AND with cinnamon pastry.
    Very creative and after reading the recipe, I can almost taste the combination of plums, almonds, pistachios and cinnamon and am ready to start baking; in fact, the picture looks good enough to eat. I like the hint to use more firm plums as opposed to ripe ones as well.

  9. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    Hi MA 🙂 Thanks! Let me know how they turn out!

  10. ellaella Says:

    This looks wonderful! I love tartlettes and all small desserts.

    BTW, do see my reply to you about the flour on my blog. And here’s the link for how I do the social bookmarks:

    http://mamado.wordpress.com/2007/03/15/adding-social-networks-buttons-to-wordpresscom-posts/

    (cinnamon ice cream — yum!)

  11. Ivonne Says:

    Oh, Erika! I was so hoping that you would take part in this challenge. Your bostini is beautiful … I just love the presentation!


Leave a Reply

