BOSTINI CREAM PIE

1 November 2007

Bostini Cream Pie - Daring Bakers Oct. 07

{BOSTINI CREAM PIE}  This year has been filled with many ‘FIRSTs’ …..  the creation of my 1st blog, my engagement, my 1st trip to Moscow (hence the lateness of this post) and this my 1st DARING BAKERS challenge!

DB mini web logoTHE DARING BAKERS are an on-line community of over 200 members dedicated to baking! Each month we receive a recipe challenge from the chosen host, which we are to make (with only allowed modifications) and then post our results simultaneously on the chosen date!

This month’s challenge was hosted by Mary of Alpineberry blog whose assignment was a ‘Bostini Cream Pie’. Her original recipe called for a large quantity of orange juice and orange zest, two ingredients that we could replace as long as the cake remained a light colour!! As I am not a fan of the combination of orange and chocolate, I replaced the orange juice with milk and the zest with saffron, which turned out beautifully. I also halved the recipe, which scaled down nicely, but for the purposes of this competition I have posted the original recipe.

RECIPE – SWEET PEA BLOG

VANILLA CUSTARD:

  • 3/4 cup whole (full fat) milk
  • 2 3/4 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 whole egg
  • 9 egg yolks
  • 3 3/4 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 vanilla bean
  • 1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon white sugar
  1. Using a whisk, combine the milk and cornstarch in a bowl, blend until smooth. Next beat in the whole egg and egg yolks. Set aside.
  2. In a saucepan, combine the cream, sugar and vanilla bean (cut bean lenght wise and remove the grains – add pod and grains to the cream). Carefully bring the cream to a boil. Just as the mixture starts to boil, REMOVE from the heat. Mix a ladle-full of the cream mixture into the egg mixture to temper it. Now add the entire egg mixture into the remaining cream.
  3. Cook the egg/cream mixture on a lower heat, constantly stirring and watching the consistency, until it thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon. Remove from the heat, and strain with a sieve.  Pour into chosen serving dishes and refrigerate to chill.

SAFFRON CHIFFON CAKE

  • 1 1/2 cups white flour
  • 3/4 cup fine white sugar
  • 1 1/3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup canola oil (I used sunflower oil)
  • 1/3 cup egg yolks (3-4 yolks)
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon saffron
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup egg whites (about 8 large)
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tarter
  1. Preheat the oven to 160°C (325°F)
  2. Butter then flour your chosen baking tray (trays) – I used one large baking tray and then cut the chiffon cake into squares.
  3. In a large bowl, sift the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt, and set aside.
  4. In a saucepan slightly heat the milk then add the saffron and leave to infuse for 5 minutes.  Now beat in the oil, egg yolks, and vanilla and combine with the dry ingredient mixture.
  5. In another large bowl, beat the egg whites a little, so they become frothy. Add the cream of tartar and beat again until soft peaks form – then gently fold into the batter.  Pour into the baking tray(s) and cook for approx. 25 minutes, or until the top turns light golden colour and bounces back when lightly pressed. Leave to cool completely on a wire rack.

DARK CHOCOLATE GLAZE

  • 8 ounces semi or bittersweet chocolate
  • 8 ounces unsalted butter

Chop the chocolate into small pieces. Heat the butter in a saucepan until it just bubbles. Remove from the heat and add the chocolate and stir until you have a uniform glaze.

Bostini cream pie detail

To assemble : I had filled the exterior ring of a flat teacup saucer with the vanilla custard – removed from the fridge, I then filled the central cup holder with chocolate. Cut a square of the chiffon cake and place in the centre of the chocolate and top with a thin layer of chocolate glaze. Garnish with a sprinkle of saffron.

NOTE: When I removed the cake from the baking tray it slightly reduced in height. For decoration, I dropped of dot of chocolate glaze onto the custard and then drag a knife through the dot to form a leaf/heart like shape. The chocolate glaze thickens and eventually hardens once cool, so if you want to serve it as a liquid glaze, serve immediately when you remove from the heat.

17 Responses to “BOSTINI CREAM PIE”

  1. Gabi Says:

    What a lovely presentation! I love the cube of cake and the platework!
    Nice Job!
    xoxo

  2. Julie Says:

    It’s lovely! The saffron and milk are a nice substitution, and the saffron strands on top, a lovely touch! Congratulations on your fabulous year!

  3. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    GABI: hi, thanks – this was my 1st challenge and was a little nervous about how it would turn out! With one DB already under your belt you are considered a veteran 😉 Like the haps of your chiffon cake!

    JULIE: hello fellow 1st time DB baker 🙂 It was a challenge and we rose to it! I went out on a limb with the saffron but was pleased with the taste. How did you find the orange flavour?

    Please keep in touch!

  4. chocolateshavings Says:

    I love that your cake is square, it makes stand out that much more with chocolate glaze! I look forward to reading your future posts now that you are back? How was Moscow by the way?

    Jenn

  5. Deborah Says:

    That looks gorgeous!! I love the look of the saffron in it!

  6. johanna Says:

    oh, i like this! very inspired way of presenting this fabulous dessert, well don on your first challenge, you’ll see it is thoroughly addictive!

  7. Lisa Says:

    Yay Erika! I love your bostini – you did an excellent job plating it!

    Congrats on your first challenge! =))

    xoxo

  8. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    JENN : hi, thanks for you compilment, I tried many different presentations of this desert before I was decided on this one 🙂 Moscow was wonderful, I even had time to make Russian perogies with my friend, and the restaurants there are fantastic (especially the Pushkin!) not to mention the beautiful architecture.

    DEBORAH : like you I had tasted boston cream pie but never made a version of it – but my hesitation was that I don’t care for orange and chocolate together, so was pelased that substitutions were allowed! The saffron turned out beautifully.

    JOHANNA : thanks for dropping by. I get that feeling that this will quickly become an addiction – at least it is a good one 😉 Your fig desert looks lovely

    LISA : hi, yes it was a great 1st challenge! I read your post, and it is interesting that I had the opposite results with the custard. Mine turned out a little thicker than normal (not in a bad way though) – perhaps it is because I 1/2ed the recipe and used large egg yolks.

  9. happygrub Says:

    HI Erika, welcome back! I was wondering where u were off too. I love the little hearts. how did u plate this? The chocolate is in a little island? I can’t figure it out..

  10. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    Farhan (happygrub): I know I was MIA there for a while. But am back, just did a cooking course and have a risotto recipe to post soon. As for the hearts…. all I did was place a dot of chocolate on the vanilla custard, and then took a knife and dragged it through the dot, which naturally formed a heart shape 🙂 And the plate I used was a teacup saucer, which has a small rimmed circle at the side, just perfect to be filled with the chocolate sauce and keep it contained so that it doesn’t mix with the vanilla custard!!

  11. Dolores Says:

    Beautiful Bostini. Congratulations on a *series* of successful firsts, and welcome to the party. 🙂

  12. peabody Says:

    Beautiful presentation.

  13. sognatrice Says:

    Wow. This is not only gorgeous, it looks delicious too; love the substitutions 🙂

  14. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    DOLORES : thanks for leaving a note. I too ended up with a thick vanilla cream… and just stopped counting the calories after I read 1/2 the recipe… if you share the desert with someone else the callories don’t count right????? 🙂 Looking forward to our next challenge together

    PEABODY : hi, I was wondering where you had been 🙂 Nice to be in touch, I see from your blog you have been busy. Love the idea of gingerbread rolls. The presentation of this DB challenge was the challenge for me, but I was happy with the final result.

    SOGNATRICE : hi lovely – I have been MIA I know, and am responding to you email today. We took a quick trip to Russia, then my family came to visit and all of a sudden it is almost mid November… where has the time gone. Thanks for leaving a note, the saffron chiffon cake is a real find (and not overly sweet for those of us less into deserts 😉 Off to check out your blog. xxx


  15. The cake cube looks awesome! And I like how easily it lends it’s self to a smaller size. This is one time small is really a delight. Congratulations on all those firsts!

  16. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    MY KITCHEN IN HALF CUPS: thanks!!! I really like ‘petit fours’ and so was inspired by this idea for Mary’s recipe. Looking forward to making your bread recipe. Speak soon.

  17. Tartelette Says:

    Well girl, for a first it is quite gorgeous! I hope you had good time in Moscow and congratulations on all your firsts this year!


Leave a Reply

