GRANOLA

20 November 2007

Granola maison!

GRANOLA: To be or not to be a breakfast person, that is the question …

I for one used to fall into the latter category… a category reserved for those of us who don’t do mornings… rush out the door like mad women (as if there was time for toast let alone breakfast) and find themselves sitting at their desk before the sun has even risen, sipping on a cup of coffee. Healthy you say…. I think not!!!

It took moving to Geneva and living with my other half – a breakfast fiend, tartine nut, jam addict and general muesli fan… to make me turn over a new leaf or should I say grain.

With breakfast becoming an increasingly important meal of my day, I started paying more attention to the ingredients I was eating…. and was shocked to discover the amount of salt, white sugar & hydrogenated oils that most granola brands add. Something had to be done! So I set to work on making my own healthy recipe.

The great thing about this recipe is that you can personalise it… I use the rolled oats as a base and then add and subtract the nuts, seeds & dried fruits I feel like.

GRANOLA RECIPE – ERIKA ALLISTON – Sweet Pea Blog

  • 200 grams rolled oats (approx. 2 cups)
  • 2 or 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon (or nutmeg as you like)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 180 grams of a mixture of seeds, nuts, & dried fruit ie raisins that you like (for this post I combined sunflower, pumpkin & linseeds, with whole almonds & pecans)
  • 2 tablespoon sunflower oil
  • 1 egg
  1. Preheat the oven to 150°C (320°F).
  2. Cover a large baking sheet with baking paper.
  3. In a large bowl, combine the rolled oats, borwn sugar, cinnamon, salt & seed/nut mix.
  4. Beat the egg & oil, add to the dry mixture
  5. Next, evenly spread the granola on the baking sheet, and bake at 150°C for 30 mins. Then REDUCE the heat and cook for 1 hour at 120°C.
  6. Turn off  the oven and let the granola cool COMPLETELY inside before storing in a dry sealed container.

NOTE: technically MUESLI and GRANOLA are different. While they are both rolled oat breakfast cereals, muesli is the Swiss / German version normally served uncooked or soaked in water, while granola is the US /UK version, which is baked and crunchy. As the names have become interchanged I have used both in the title of this post. I also plan on trying a maple syrop & pecan version.

10 Responses to “GRANOLA”

  1. andiesummerkiss Says:

    Great recipe, Erika. Sounded easy too.

    My parents usually have greasy noodles for breakfast (we are chinese, as you can tell).

    I started buying muesli for them a couple of months ago, but they don’t like it because it tastes kinda soggy and boring.

    I will try making the crunchy type as you said, I think they will like it!

  2. happygrub Says:

    Breakfast! My new favourite meal. Its a luxury few can enjoy nowadays. I want some granola/meusli and that cute milk jug too!

  3. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    FARHAN (happygrub) : you always leave me such sweet and positive comments, makes me smile. I feel the same way – breakfast has become my favourite meal, and I cannot go without it! Hmm as for the milk jug, I love these tye of little glass items. Am always on the lookout for new things for the blog.

    ANDISUMMERKISS: thanks for dropping by. It is really easy to make this granola and you can personalise it for your parents … easing them out of the ‘greasy noodles’ and into a healthy alternative. I have always hated soggy cereal, so am a great fan of crunchy granola, and tend to add the milk at the last minute and eat it straight away. Please keep in touch.


  4. Nothing beats homemade granola/muesli – great recipe, Erika!

  5. Kristan Says:

    I’m a breakfast nut too, no pun intended in light of Muesli nut content, but seriously I’m right into breakfast and a healthy start. I’m a little upset with the commercial cereal brands available and wish I had a healthier option. I’m going to make the muesli this week as fuel for my snowboarding trip to Whistler Mountain. I think breakfast makes a huge difference in my day, and jumpstarts my metabolism so I stay fit as a fiddle and also fit into my work pants! Great picture, looking forward to trying this one….

  6. Marjorie Says:

    Hooray for us breakfast fanatics – a really crunchy, wholesome granola that is easy to make. I do not like “store bought” cereals but have not found a granola recipe which intrigued me………..until this one! Good combo of seeds, nuts and raisins. Will let you know when have tried it.
    Well done and………nice photo!

  7. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    PATRICIA: hi, and happy 1st birthday blog again! A great accomplishment. And I agree, homemade is by far the best!

    KRISTAN:
    thanks for your sweet note. I too have always loved granola/muesli – remember ‘Harvest Crunch’…. but these store bought brands often upsets my stomach… I think it is the additives & extra fat they add. So this combined with needed more energy due to a fast motabolism – this cereal is just the thing, and great for skiing days!!!

    MARJORIE: I hope you will like this recipe. Please let me know how it turns out and what choice of ingredients you used. It will be interesting to see if PF can digest the homemade variety. xxx

  8. sognatrice Says:

    This looks like *exactly* what I’d love for breakfast. I have a hard time finding oats or muesli, but this definitely gives me a reason to put even more effort into it.

    Yum!

  9. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    SOGNATRICE: I am always on the hunt for new ideas for breakfast (please send any and all my way) and as I am on a bit of a health regime at the moment, this is just the thing. I think you and I are going to have to organise care packages – so I can send you things like tahini, oats, and earl grey tea chocolate 🙂 Can’t keep a good cook down right!


  10. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Erika AW, Erika AW. Erika AW said: Granola – healthy recipe, add an egg lets u reduce the sugar buts still bind the oats http://bit.ly/6mvD5H […]


Leave a Reply

