SWEDISH BREAD Recipe

21 February 2008

Swedish Bread - Fullkornight Formbrod

{FULLKORNIGHT FORMBROD} This is a story of  Swedish bread, my friends Nina &  Sophie – 2 Swedish sisters, their mother, Elisabeth, and four cities.

Nina was not into baking bread, that is to say not until this past Christmas…. when I got her roped into the kitchen, and not even my own kitchen but that of her mother’s….. as when I saw Elisabeth a few months earlier I asked her how to make Swedish bread… She said not to worry, that she had just the recipe and as Nina was home in Stockholm for the holidays, and would come back an expert.

As she did! And further family help was on the way, as Sophie, brought the authentic Swedish ingredients (vetekross – cracked wheat & grahamsmjöl– wholewheat flour etc.) from Stockholm, to London to Paris and finally to Geneva, where this past weekend Nina and I made the recipe together. So impressed was I with the outcome – thick crunchy crust, soft, yet dense centre of cracked wheat, that I just made another loaf just to post the results this evening.

So a big thank you to Nina, Elisabeth & Sophie – I truly believe that I was Swedish in another life!

RECIPE – SWEET PEA BLOG

This is Elisabeth’s traditional Swedish Bread recipe, one that she has been making since she was a little girl.  So come, pull up a chair and grab a knife and then a slice, or maybe two, as this is true comfort food to be shared.

NO KNEADING: Bread is like people it has it’s own personality. This particular variety does not require kneading – now some of you may miss this step, but I can tell you, at the end of a long day, when you feel like baking but don’t have much time nor want the physical work out – this recipe keeps things simple.

FOR 1 LOAF

  • 320g (0.42 L) white flour
  • 145g (1.9 dl) cracked wheat
  • 75g (1.13 dl) whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 0.25 dl milk
  • 0.025 dl water
  • 13g fresh yeast
  1. Butter then flour a loaf tin (25 x 10cm) and set aside.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the white flour, cracked wheat, whole wheat flour and salt and mix well. Set aside.
  3. Next, in a small saucepan, combine the milk and water, and heat until the milk is slightly warm to the touch.
  4. Measure out the fresh yeast, and in a small bowl combine with 3 tablespoons of the warm milk. Mix well until all the yeast is dissolved.
  5. Add the yeast mixture to the remaining warm milk and mix well.
  6. Now add all the milk mixture to the flour mixture.
  7. Using ONLY A WOODEN SPOON mix until all the flour is absorbed. DO NOT KNEAD the dough. You will have a rather DRY dough, do not worry this is normal – all is going according to plan!
  8. Evenly spread the dough into the prepared loaf tin, then cover it well with a clean tea towel and leave to rise for 1 hour.
  9. Preheat the oven to 225°C (430°F)
  10. Next place in the oven to cook for 30 minutes. When the timer goes, remove the bread from the oven, and still using the OVENMITS, cover the loaf tin with a layer of aluminium foil, and place back into the oven to cook for another 30 minutes.
  11. When finished baking, remove from the loaf tin and set on a baking tray to cool. Using a pastry brush, brush the top of the bread with a little water.

NOTE: This bread dries out easily so once fully cooled make sure it is well covered in aluminum foil for storing . Makes excellent toast, served with cheese or pathé as per the traditional Swedish breakfast which I love. I recently learned that Swedish baking recipes are written using volume measurements ie litres (L) and decilitres (dl) as included in this post.

6 Responses to “SWEDISH BREAD Recipe”

  1. RecipeGirl Says:

    Oh what a delightful surprise… I’m half Swedish myself and I’m quite partial to trying Swedish recipes!

    Thanks for visiting me 🙂


  2. Good to see you here again! Sounds like a great time learning about a new bread.

  3. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    RecipeGirl – thanks for your message. About half the people I know in Geneva are from Sweden… I look Swedish, love theh country & culture, and have a sneaking suspicion that my birth certificate was changed & should actually read Stockholm 😉 My fiancé & I are starting up Swedish lessons in a few weeks. Where is your family from?
    When you have a chance I have also posted a recipe for Swedish cookies on my blog – under SP sweet index. Speak soon

    Gretchen – hi, I know I have been a little MIA lately, but am back up and running. I love making bread, and am always looking to try new recipes. This one has been a great success. Am off to look at your blog.

  4. Marjorie Says:

    My mother made all our bread when I was growing up and I distinctly remember coming home from school every day and before I got to the front door, the most wonderful scent in the world (to a young child) would hit me and I would savour once again, my mother’s home made bread. It is great that the talent for making bread has remained in the family! This Swedish recipe is one which I will definitely try and know it will be delicious. M x

  5. happygrub Says:

    Hi Erika, pretty loaf, can’t believe it doesn’t need much kneading, how great is that!

    PS. How are your wedding preps, you MUST share with us.. 🙂 I am being nosy.. But share please, I’ll love to see what you’re been up to 🙂

  6. Erika (SWEET PEA) Says:

    Marjorie – I agree that fresh baked bread has one of the most wonderful comforting scents & every time you smell it is like the 1st time. Perhaps we can make the Swedish bread together!!!!

    Farhan (Happygrub) – nice to hear from you 🙂 Believe me the NO KNEADING aspect of this bread is wonderful. The wedding plans are going well. I will try to do a ‘wedding related post’ soon to fill you in on the latest and greatest. Hope all is well your end.


Leave a Reply

