CARROT CAKE

25 February 2009

sp-french-carrot-cake

FRENCH CARROT CAKE – a Journey

Can I tell you a secret?

I have always had a terrible weakness for American style carrot cake – the soft, moist slices, filled with spices and topped with thick cream cheese icing. However when it came to the subject of nuts – as far as I was concerned they had no business being in my carrot cake. That was until now.

It all started with my new French cook book, Des Recettes du Potager. On first glance this little green book is filled with savoury recipes for garden vegetables, but on closer inspection I found 1 or 2 sweet treats nestled inside. One of these was le carrot cake, made with ground toasted hazelnuts!

The French are famous for knowing a thing or two about baking, so why oh why did I have so much drama with this new recipe??? The first time I made this cake I followed the recipe to a T, and from an outsiders perspective I had triumphed – the cake rose well, had a nice crusty golden outside & soft moist inside. I especially like the small twist of flouring the cake pan with brown sugar (cassonade), which added a sweet caramel effect. But that’s where the joy ended. Taking a bit of this lovely looking cake, my 1st thought was, oh how delicious …., then wait, hold on, what’s that funny aftertaste, a sort of acidity that rests on your tongue, lingering in the background. Another bite confirmed that I was not hallucinating.

So it was back to the drawing board, for trail N°2. This time I replaced the ground toasted hazelnuts with almonds  & used chestnut flour instead of all-purpose white. The result was better, as the aftertaste was less noticeable, but it was still there, lingering, & I wasn’t happy.

You see – drama drama drama drama.

sp-carrot-detail1

At this point you’d think that common sense would have prevailed & I’d have moved on. But you would be wrong. Perhaps I can blame my stubborness on the fact that I am born under the sign of the Ram & tend to drive on not matter what…. apparently even when it comes to carrot cake.  I just couldn’t let this recipe go – there was something intrigued about it. The fact that they could sneak in ground nuts to replace part of the flour & it worked, was enough justification in my mind to journey on.

So I geared up for trial N°3, this time using only untoasted ground almonds and replaced the butter with vegetable oil. Please don’t cringe. I love butter and normally do not cave in to using oil. But in my defence I have recently read many a carrot cake recipe, to discover that several called for oil instead of butter (justifications of WW2 & shortage of butter, plus the binding of oil working better with flour).

And it work, by golly it worked!!! Just call me Sherlock, Sherlock Holmes. Gone was that little aftertaste that had been offending my taste buds, while keeping all the things I truly loved about this cake from the beginning. Plus this is a gluten free cake recipe, using only 1/2 a cup of oil (unlike some recipe which call for twice that), so you can have your cake & eat it too!!!

sp-carrot-cake-detail

RECIPE : SWEET PEA Blog

  • 2 to 3 large whole carrots (250 gr)
  • 125 gr ground almond meal
  • 100 gr (1/2 cup) vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 100 gr brown sugar (cassonade) + extra for flouring the cake pan
  • 50 gr chestnut flour (us all-purpose white flour if you prefer)
  • 3 1/4 teaspoons baking powder (1 sachet if you are in France)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • sprinkle of ground nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • icing sugar for decoration
  1. Preheat the oven to 210°C / 410°F
  2. Butter a cake pan with removable bottom & then “flour” it with the extra brown sugar
  3. Peel & finely grate carrots. Set aside
  4. Beat the eggs till light & frothy, then add the grated carrots and almond meal
  5. Add the oil, sugar, flour, baking powder & cinnamon. Mix well. The batter will be liquidy.
  6. Pour the batter in the cake pan and cook for 35 -40 minutes or until a cake tester (toothpick) comes out clean.
  7. Wait 5 minutes before removing the sides of the cake pan.
  8. Dust with icing sugar & serve.

NOTE : this cake keeps well, remaining nice & moist. It is just as good the 2nd or 3rd day!

14 Responses to “CARROT CAKE”


  1. […] Go to the author’s original blog: CARROT CAKE Recipe « SWEET PEA […]

  2. Katya Says:

    Sherlock, mm-mmmm, could I please ship myself over to Geneva and become the official taste-tester, I’m willing to wrestle with O for that spot 🙂

  3. Kristan Says:

    Great post! I love carrot cake and this is a nice, lighter twist on the traditional American version.


    • Kristan: hi thanks. The almonds add a great texture to this cake, especially as there is so little flour used. And it stays moist for days so you can make it in advance 🙂

  4. Anonymous Says:

    This carrot cake turned out wonderfully!

  5. Katya Says:

    This carrot cake turned out brilliantly! The neighbours at the dacha are already asking me to bake another one 🙂

    I will actually be baking it again tonight for a friend of mine who just gave birth to a lovely baby boy. When I asked her what I should bring over for dinner tonight, her response was that she would like me to bake something for her. The decision on what to bake was an easy one – carrot cake it is, full of flavour and so simple! Thanks for the recipe!!! 🙂

  6. Marjorie Says:

    I have been meaning to make this cake for a long time and finally did it today as it was raining and I felt the need to bake! It is the best carrot cake I have ever tasted – very moist & light, easy to make, no need for an icing and I love the brown sugar sprinkled on the bottom of the pan.
    I like the fact that there is much less oil than the recipe I have always made so that too makes it more healthy. It was also a treat for the “English Patient”!!! Marjorie


  7. This looks absolutely superb! It’s how I found your blog, actually – looking for a French variant of the indomitably-American carrot cake. So…what do they call it? ‘Gateaux a carrottes’ or ‘le carrot cake’ – I’m willing to believe both!!

    Rosie


    • Hi Rosie,
      gateau aux carottes 🙂 Makes a nice change from the traditional American version. In the future I will try the recipe with part apple and part carrot.
      I made muffins like this and they turned out wonderfully. Looking forward to reading your blog.

      Erika

  8. Iwona Says:

    Would love to try this recipe. For those with nut allergies, what would you suggest as a substitute for the almond meal?


    • Hi Iwona,
      If you have a nut allergy and cannot make this carrot cake with almond meal, then perhaps you can replace it with flour ie) chestnut or whole wheat. The issue will be the quantity of flour to use – this you will have to play with.

      I would put less then the almond meal ie) use 80g to start, mix in and see what the batter consistency is like. Slowly add a little more flour if needed to get the right consistency. I have not tried this myself so please let me know how it turns out.
      Erika

      • Iwona Says:

        Hi Erika,
        I made the carrot cake with your suggested substitution, using 100 g of whole wheat flour for almond meal. I made this cake for Mother’s day party, and it was a hit! Personally I am not of fan of the American style carrot cake with the cream cheese glaze/topping, so I was looking forward to seeing how your recipe would turn out. The cake was moist and the carrots were definitely the centre of attention. The brown sugar topping added the crunch for a nice finish.

        This is a keeper recipe.
        Thanks
        Iwona from Canada


      • Hi Iwona,
        many thanks for the feedback – I am pleased to hear that the whole wheat flour worked so well and that the cake was a hit for your Mother’s day party! Nut allergies are so common today that it is good to have alternative versions of recipes so that everyone can enjoy them. I will pass along your new version of this cake to readers. Please keep in touch
        Erika


Leave a Reply

